Home > Linux > Some great Linux Enlightenment distros for your consideration… and a last word about bacon

Some great Linux Enlightenment distros for your consideration… and a last word about bacon

Today I’d like to talk about some nice Linux-based operating systems that use the Enlightenment desktop environment. But first, I have to share an interesting bit of synchronicity I stumbled upon just now. A couple of days ago I mentioned several ways I am coping with winter depression and I happened to mention bacon. So I opened my web browser just now to NPR news and there was This Story staring me in the face. Never underestimate the strangeness of the Universe, or the power of Bacon!

But getting back to Linux, one of the best and maybe worst things about Gnu/Linux-based operating systems (distros) is the insane amount of choice that one has about the GUI (Graphical User Interface) and which desktop environment/window manager you can use to interact with your system. There are hundreds of Linux distros available that cost nothing to download and use to run your computer with. And there are many choices of GUI managers you can use. The most popular distros come with GNOME, KDE, XFCE, Openbox, LXDE, and Fluxbox. The last four here mentioned are becoming more popular because they are more light-weight (use less system resources, less RAM, so they work great on older computers/netbooks than GNOME or KDE). But there’s also another one that’s been around for a while called Enlightenment. For the past few years it seems like there hasn’t been much development going on with the Enlightenment Project, but recently I’ve seen a few new distros and some well-established ones that use the Enlightenment desktop. The version now in use, E-17, is pretty neat because it is very light on system resources, yet has a beautiful look (eye-candy) and is quick and responsive on a variety of hardware.

Before continuing, I need to mention that if you’re a Windows or Mac user who has little or no experience using Linux, I probably would not recommend jumping straight away into a distro that’s based on E-17. A year and a half ago the first Enlightenment Linux OS I used was MoonOS. I installed it on our older laptop and used it for many months. It was great, but Enlightenment is a little more complex to learn how to configure than GNOME or KDE. It took a few hours of mucking around to discover how incredibly customizable Enlightenment is. It was fun, but maybe a little confusing for a Linux newbie. For anyone just trying out Linux, I would highly recommend Linux Mint or Pinguy OS for total out-of-the-box ease of use.

But back to Enlightenment; there are two distros I’d like to mention today. I haven’t installed either of them on any of our computers yet, but from trying them out from the Live CDs I’ve been really impressed. They both run very well just from booting from CD. And those two are PCLinuxOS-E-17 and a new kid on the block, Bodhi Linux.

PCLinuxOS has a large international user base, is very pleasurable to use and comes in many different flavors: GNOME, KDE, XFCE, LXDE, Openbox and a really sweet Enlightenment version. There are many different ways to set up E-17, and the basic configuration of PCLinuxOS E-17 is beautiful, from the cool sunrise boot screen to the nice assortment of pre-installed applications. I’ve seriously considered installing it, but then in the last couple of months another Enlightenment contender has burst onto the scene: Bodhi Linux.

Bodhi was created by Jeff Hoogland, a guy who has a blog called Thoughts on Technology that I like and who first introduced me to Pinguy OS. He started making his own Enlightenment distro based on Ubuntu just a few months ago, and though it’s still in beta it’s pretty nice. Bodhi is meant to be a minimalist distro with just a few basic apps (like Firefox) pre-installed, so the user can start with the sleek E-17 base and add what you want. A neat thing about Bodhi is it already has its own software page where you can easily install applications and utilities, or you can use ‘apt-get ‘in the Terminal or Synaptic Package Manager as in regular Ubuntu. And Bodhi also has its own repositories. Several new people have recently joined the project, and development is moving along briskly. The first Release Candidate of Bodhi Linux (1.5) will be out on January 30th. There is also a handy link on the website with tutorials on configuring Enlightenment, which is a great idea for those unfamiliar with E-17. Bodhi just gets better and better.

Here are some more links. Check out Enlightenment!

Distro Hoppin`: A Sneak Peek at Bodhi Linux RC

PCLinuxOS: E-17 Desktop

Enlightenment User Guide

Update March 17, 2012: I’ve decided to create a new blog here on WordPress strictly dealing with Linux and Open Source Software for the average desktop computer user. Please check it out at: TheFearlessPenguin. Thanks!

Categories: Linux Tags: , ,
  1. January 29, 2011 at 2:16 am

    Great post. I’m a big fan of minimal desktops since I run Linux on an 11 year old Thinkpad, with Xfce being my favorite.

    Regarding the bacon story on NPR…I read that and commented on it on Facebook. I’ve been a Vegetarian and I can guarantee the smell of bacon will never make me go back to eating meat. It makes me want to vomit. :-)

    Again, great post!

    -Chad

    • January 29, 2011 at 3:13 am

      Thanks. I like Xfce too. Have you ever tried Enlightenment? It might run even better on your laptop, and I’m amazed at how configurable it is!
      About the bacon; I used to be Vegetarian long ago, and I think I would have had the same reaction to eating bacon. I admire your dietary choice!

  2. r1to
    January 31, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I just Like E!
    have PCLOS’s one on desktop and planning
    to install bodhi on lappy in a few days.
    Nice review.

  3. Mark
    March 4, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Don’t forget about Macpup, the Puppy Linux derivative that uses Englightenment. Have you had a chance to try this one yet?

    http://macpup.org/

    • March 4, 2011 at 4:42 am

      I’m familiar with MacPup. And I’ve seen a video review by SneekyLinux (http://www.youtube.com/user/sneekylinux) recently. It’s strange, but in the past I tried a MacPup Live CD on my old Dell laptop, and I could not get the wireless to work! I’ve also tried Puppy Linux CDs and have the same problem. It seems to connect sfter some messing around, but I can never get a real connection.
      MacPup looks pretty cool, too! I wish it used a different wireless manager. Maybe I’ll try the newest version again.

  4. March 4, 2011 at 4:44 am

    PS: and I just discovered Sabayon Linux now has an E17 version out. Enlightenment is really coming up in the world lately!

  5. Shaq
    June 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    64bit bodhi wud be neat

  6. Jacob
    November 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Linux mint is not such a great wonderful ‘out of the box’. It needs wired connection to get some wireless to work, as same as most of ubuntu-based

    • November 24, 2011 at 6:59 am

      I’m sorry to hear that. I’ve used Mint, or other Ubuntu-based distros on 3 different computers (Dell and HP) with built-in cards or usb wireless adapters and never had a problem. It usually just takes a few seconds to get my wifi working. Not everything works on every kind of hardware, but it seems like Ubuntu-based distros have a pretty good record for compatibility these days; especially Mint.

  7. August 8, 2012 at 1:31 am

    I f you like Enlightenment e17, you may also like Humanity which is unity-linux based.
    http://humanitye17linux.wordpress.com/

  1. January 28, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

