Archive

Archive for March 7, 2011

A little more about Linux… and some links

My post for today consists of some web links that may be of interest; mostly pertaining to GNU/Linux, and a few about entertainment. The previous post about Bodhi Linux received a lot of attention and some positive feedback from people in the Linux community, for which I’d like to say ‘thanks’. I appreciate any comments and critiques.

I’ve been a little obsessed lately about spreading an awareness of GNU/Linux and in particular some distros that I love using. I like the idea that I might make other people’s experiences with computers more fun and productive. I really enjoy letting people know there are different choices when it comes to computer software. And… I’m really not the geeky type. I’m not interested in writing code or creating software. I just want to let people know about operating systems that work for the average person. That said; having a basic knowledge of how your operating system works and how to troubleshoot simple problems is a good thing. Learning to use your software in the easiest and most efficient way is quite empowering! And in the long run it can save you a lot of wasted time and money. That’s another thing I like about Linux: A little knowledge goes a long way. (Don’t fear the Terminal!) And the community mentality that goes with the open source movement is a wonderful thing. A distro’s user forums are a great way to share knowledge, get help, and maybe connect with like-minded human beings, free of charge. People helping other people who use the same products, instead of the frustration of trying to get through to ‘customer service’ that might never help you out.

Sometimes I think I should just start a separate blog called ‘The Linux Evangelist’ or something like that. But then again, life is full of too many things that interest me to focus on one topic all the time! And with two kids, it’s difficult enough to make time for one blog, let alone two. I’m no expert on Linux. But I can point you in the direction of people who are. If I’m going to get practice writing (which is why I started this blog in the first place) it would be good to follow whatever interests me. So I’ll go wherever my stream of conscious leads me for now, but I’ll certainly be coming back to the topic of Linux quite often. Computers are just too much fun!

So, on to the web links for today! Here are several that are informative and mostly self-explanatory concerning GNU/Linux:

Getting Started with Linux: Installing Apps and Going Further

Linux over Windows..? Well, the argument continues

Understanding viruses in Linux

Linux Leaders: Debian and Ubuntu Derivative Distros

Here’s one that’s sure to stir up controversy. Don’t ya love controversy? But despite my many years using and love for Apple’s computers, I’m afraid this article reflects my growing fear:

Forget Google – it’s Apple that is turning into the evil empire

And we’ll wrap up with Entertainment links about a fun little web comic I just found, plus another plug for one of my current favorite TV series:

“Drive” is a goofy web comic war over an interstellar engine

FRINGE – Fridays Reanimated

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.