Home > Books, General Ramblings > Random Thoughts on a Summer Day

Random Thoughts on a Summer Day

I haven’t posted anything in more than a week. It’s another beautiful July day, and since there’s a lull in the action I’m just going to write whatever pops into my head!

The weather has been wonderful since the middle of May. I just wish we would get some rain! The earth is pretty dry (didn’t think I’d be saying that a couple of months ago). Our little vegetable garden is growing nicely, thanks to the kids and I watering the plants every couple of days. Nurturing is my favorite part of gardening. Little tomatoes are swelling and pepper plants have blossomed and the broccoli is getting big. And there are a bunch of sunflowers reaching skyward around the bird feeder.  I love watching vegetables grow!

The kids have some nice activities planned for this month and August. Fiona is taking several dance classes with her (our) favorite dance teacher Elizabeth Clark. We’re going to do a few outings with the local Day Care Center to Darien Lake State Park, Genesee Country Museum and a visit to the Genesee County Fair, among others. Arthur will also be doing a week-long tennis camp. We’ve been having fun playing tennis when we get the chance.

Gosh, I love summer! Bike riding and swimming and sitting in the shade of the back yard reading a book.  Exercise and laziness. Clambakes and water parks. Blueberry picking and fishing at Grandpa’s. Life doesn’t get any better. It’d sure be nice if it lasted about 3 months longer, though. The older I get, the faster the weeks seem to fly by!

Speaking of reading; a friend of ours let us borrow the first three books in George R. R. Martin’s ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ saga. And all I can say is “WOW!” Stephanie and I are reading the first volume, ‘A Game of Thrones’. It is utterly fabulous!! G. R. R. Martin is an excellent writer. I absolutely love the first season of the HBO series of ‘Game of Thrones’, (which follows the book very closely), but of course the book is so well written and fills in so much more detail about the kingdoms and characters of Westeros that anyone who watched the TV series must read the books. HERE is an article about Book Five, ‘A Dance of Dragons’ that just came out. But if you haven’t read the previous books, watch out for spoilers! Since the second season of ‘Game of Thrones’ won’t be out till NEXT Spring, I’m definitely going to be reading the other books in the series for the rest of the summer.  This is just the best fiction I’ve read in a long time! Even if you’re not into ‘Fantasy’ literature, this series is incredibly realistic and combines many genres. It’s just great literature; intelligently, exquisitely written. Go! BUY IT right now!

Well, time’s flown by again. We need to leave to meet some homeschool friends at a park. So I’ll leave you with these lyrics of a lovely song for a summer day. Bye.

See the curtains hangin’ in the window, in the evenin’ on a Friday night.
A little light a-shinin’ through the window, lets me know everything is alright.

Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

See the paper layin’ in the sidewalk, a little music from the house next door.
So I walked on up to the doorstep, through the screen and across the floor.

Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.

Sweet days of summer, the jasmine’s in bloom. July is dressed up and playing her tune.
And I come home from a hard day’s work, and you’re waiting there, not a care in the world.
See the smile a-waitin’ in the kitchen, food cookin’ and the plates for two.
See the arms that reach out to hold me, in the evening when the day is through.

Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind

-written by JIMMY SEALS, DARRELL CROFTS

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

