Home > Introduction > Taking the Plunge…

Taking the Plunge…

So, it’s Saturday morning, January 23rd.  And I, David Burke, age 53, husband of Stephanie, father of Arthur, 7, and Fiona, 4, am beginning a blog!

I am one of the last people I would ever expect to write a blog.

When this “web log” thing first began cropping up a few years ago it seemed to me like a curiosity. I could understand why people who were knowledgeable in a certain area might be inclined to write an on-line journal to share their expertise, or reporters to immediately post that late-breaking story; but why would ordinary, everyday human beings be inclined to chronicle our personal, mundane thoughts and activities out across the world-wide web? It seemed so impersonal. So mildly self-indulgent, (like, who’s really gonna care what we all have to say)?

Well, of course that was before anyone had heard of MySpace or Facebook or Twitter (and don’t get me started on “texting”). That was before I could know what a friend of a friend of mine had for dinner ten minutes ago, or what they thought about that new movie they just went to see, just by opening my web browser. And that was when the world-wide web was still an impersonal wasteland of random data flying around in a cloud of streaming electrons. And Google became a noun and a verb and a way of instantaneously finding information and ideas and opinions at the stroke of a key.

Gosh, now Bots and corporations and governments follow every click of our mice, and privacy is fast becoming a thing of the past. Yet these days I find myself delving more and more into the vast sea of the blogosphere, (is that a word?) and laughing and being moved to tears and learning all kinds of things I never would have thought to search for;  from experts and housewives and stay at home dads and ranting lunatics. There certainly is a lot we can learn from the myriad voices of humanity, and this new kind of connection of minds through the Internet intrigues the hell out of me.

It can also be a little scary. Is this the next phase in human evolution, brought about by ourselves? In fifteen years will we all have our computers implanted as tiny chips in our brains? Will the Internet become part of our consciousness in ways inconceivable at this moment? Will it take on a life of its own? (Skynet!!!)

Whoa Dave!! But I digress…  It’s just that the future is flying at us quicker than we can imagine. I read Alvin Tofflers’ “Future Shock” back in the seventies, and WOW! It’s really happening.  And all this talk about the “singularity” and cyber-terrorism and the exponential growth of technology and knowledge is a bit daunting. Where is it leading us? And how do “we” take the lead back?

I guess that’s why I want to look at the Internet and the tools we use to communicate through it as a great opportunity to discover what it means to be human *(on that note, we should all read more good science fiction… but I digress again!). I think the internet can help us connect with other diverse human beings and learn in ways we never could before. Maybe help us understand other cultures and beliefs and why we need to work TOGETHER to keep from destroying this precious world. Our differences can make us stronger, if we accept our shared connection as human beings (and the interconnection of ALL living things).

You may now join hands and sing Kumbaya… 😉

Ya know, this is what I was afraid might happen when I just jump into the stream of consciousness thing. But that’s what this blog thing is all about, I guess. And this is how my mind works (and the internet!!) One connection leads to another and another and……

So. Getting back to my introduction;

I’m interested in a lot of stuff: spirituality, history, philosophy, mythology, anthropology, astronomy, food, art, home schooling, Linux, computers in general, science fiction, movies, photography, meditation, etc. I’m thinking of making separate blogs to focus on a particular interest, but for now I’d like to just see how this goes. Stream of consciousness. Streaming is good. The watercourse Way. Who knows where it will take me (us). And that is getting me rather excited! (And this will be good medicine for the mid winter depression that can affect those of us in northern climes)!

I don’t know if anyone besides a few friends or family may read this, and that’s OK.

I have lived in the moment quite a bit. And most of my life so far has been filled with joy, and many moments of downright BLISS! But we can get into that in future installments.

I  married my soul mate 12 years ago and have helped bring into existence two amazing children. I enjoy creating things (painting, drawing, sculpture) and love learning new things. BUT… for a very long time I’ve really wanted to be a writer! I’ve written poetry since I was sixteen or so, and I’m quite happy about that; but I also feel a need to write much more. Stories, novels, you know. And “they” always say “write what you know” and “write something every day”. So this is as good a start as any to get that under way.

In closing, for now (I need to eat breakfast, the sun is shining!! and Stephanie needs to use this computer!) I would like to thank Wil Wheaton (you know – the one from “Stand by Me”, “Star Trek: The Next Generation” and lots more). I discovered his blog a year or so ago and just thoroughly enjoy his personality and his writing. It’s in my Links. Wil, and other blogs I’ve been led to lately are what got me to begin this crazy thing. So… Thanks Wil!

Talk to ya soon…

Categories: Introduction
  1. Jim Bentley
    January 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Well, UNCLE Dave, I wish I had some deep philosophical response to make or a statement to reflect on or a thought to make you stop and meditate for a few moments but unfortunately I do not. I simply wanted to inquire if you had started reading “The Eye of the World” and, if so, would like to get your thoughts or comment on what you think so far.

  2. January 24, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Hey Jim, thanks for the response. No, I haven’t started it yet. I think this week I’ll begin. I’ll keep you posted!

  3. Suzanne
    January 25, 2010 at 6:50 am

    I was just thinking that this is more Dave-words strung together in one place than I have ever heard uttered in a conversation between us, or even if we put together all our conversations over the many years we have known one another! Perhaps that is because I talk too much? Or evidence that we all have a venue in which we are most comfortable communicating (and writing works for you?). I’m looking forward to your blog content. I’m glad for your desire to share!

  4. January 25, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Wow Suzanne, if that’s true I’m pretty bowled over! I think your perception of my spoken words might be slightly distorted, (all our conversations over many years?) although maybe the last few years when we all get together we’re either talking about more mundane matters or the kids. I must have said more words about Avatar than my paultry blog entry. Didn’t I?!
    This is an interesting perspective. I can’t wait till next time we see you and Bob

    • Suzanne
      January 28, 2010 at 6:30 am

      I think that is it…. wedging our adult sharing time in between lapfuls of our lovely children. Juggling the mundane, the necessary, the unavoidable mechanics of living, working, commuting, maintaining our homes and talking about those details takes away from the time to discuss the mystical, theological, and poetical. Then there is the matter of midlife frustration – something that is not so fun to talk about but which can overwhelm me and dominate my thoughts and my topics of conversation. And in those moments, as Stephanie explained to me one day…. if Dave doesn’t have something nice to say, he doesn’t say anything. He practices discretion… and reservation. I’ve come to admire that capacity in many people, including you. As for Avatar, we loved your description of it, and did take the girls to see it as a family. I think Loren would have been fine if I had done my homework and been aware of the content; I just should have briefed her on what she would see. Evie was very overwhelmed by the violence and destruction of the great tree and the battle scenes – more of that intense, fast action, relentless hype you were talking about in modern entertainment – and I think from now on I have to avoid taking my kids to PG 13 with the assumption that they are too young for that rating, especially Evie. If I had been home with them and had a remote, and could stop scenes periodically, I could have skipped scenes or interrupted the trauma for her. I’m looking forward to seeing it again and Bob and I are going back Sunday to see it at IMAX 3D, without the kids, and am really looking forward to it. I’m glad to have this new venue to communicate with you!

  5. Dennis
    January 26, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Looking forward to reading your blog. Too often there are people in my life I spend time with regularly, but really don’t KNOW. Perhaps along the lines of what Suzanne was saying – I think I learned as much about you through your first couple of blog entries as I have in our recent get togethers (in our defense it’s difficult having in-depth conversations with large numbers of kids/chaos around). Anyways, this is my wordy way of saying I’m glad you started this blog & am looking forward to reading future posts!

    • January 26, 2010 at 12:54 pm

      Yeah Dennis, I know what you mean. I hardly know most of my family members, especially my nieces and nephews. And when we get together at the big family things 3 or 4 times a year it’s usually chaotic and the kids take a lot of out attention. Hopefully that will change as they get older. But sometimes our family is just too darn big!
      Thanks for the response. If you have any suggestions for future intellectual discourse, fire away!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

