Home > Creativity, General Ramblings > Ideas that come to me at 5:00 am

Ideas that come to me at 5:00 am

This past Friday Stephanie had off from work and I was able to volunteer at WXXI (Rochester’s Public Broadcasting Station) to answer phones for the radio pledge drive. Many times I’ve thought it would be kinda fun to do that, but I never think of it till a fund drive has already begun. This time they e-mailed me a couple weeks ago to ask if I wanted to volunteer. It was great! I had fun, and got to hang out with some interesting folks. And it was so nice to spend time with adults! I’ve had a lovely mini-vacation the last few days with Stephanie home so I could roam around Batavia and Rochester by myself.

On a different note…

This morning about 5:20 I woke up to go to the bathroom. When I crawled back under the blankets my darn brain started rambling around. The next thing I knew I’m thinking about story ideas. (Note to myself: when you come up with ideas that excite you, write them down!! You’ve had some doozies over the months then completely forgotten them). I tried to succumb to slumber again but my mind went off somewhere else. I thought about educational things to do with the kids. Then for some reason I started thinking about religion. I don’t know why. Arthur (and Fiona) have been exposed to a little bit of many spiritual beliefs, but we haven’t gone into any particular religion in much depth. My mind went from thinking about learning more details about the world’s great religions with Arthur, to a broader concept of writing a book about religion beginning with archaeological evidence of prehistoric hunter-gatherer societies to the first recorded religions from ancient Mesopotamia and following the rise of  religions through history, and how they were affected by what came before. A book to offer a distilled or simplified version of spirituality for kids/young adults.

Religion has always fascinated me; the deeply atavistic need of human beings to make sense of our world, to try to understand what is ultimately beyond our comprehension. Our need to appease powers we perceive as greater than ourselves, to harmonize with the natural universe, and to impose moral codes on our behaviour is so uniquely human. I would love to do research for such a book to learn more about the spiritual systems I’m familiar with and more about religions I don’t know much about.

I find it horribly sad that though most of the great religions teach love for one another (do unto others…etc) and the sacredness of human life, we fail so miserably to live by those moral codes. So many atrocities have been committed throughout history, and today, because of  people perverting religious beliefs to justify their own agendas. I don’t know… maybe civilization would have never had a chance without religion. Or certainly without laws.  Maybe human existence would have been even worse?

But then, like John Lennon’s song ‘Imagine’, maybe we’d actually be a lot better off living without different religions or nations trying to impose their belief systems on others. There is intrinsically so much more that makes us similar than that which makes us different, as human beings. We all have the same basic needs and desires and dreams. And at the heart of all spiritual teachings is the concept of unity and love. Of seeing the divine in all things. Krishna, Zoroaster, Lao Tzu, Buddha, Jesus, Mohammed; the message is the same. Look within. We are all part of a Whole. Unconditional love.

Well, I got off on a tangent again!  And now it’s time to go.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Links:

Origins of Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day: Religious Origins and Background

WXXI Rochester

  1. Laurie
    February 15, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I will be the first in line to by the book if you will sign my copy!! I have always been fascinated by the world’s various religions also. I feel my own beliefs/spirituality is a combination of various beliefs I have come across over my life. My mother would cringe, saying it is “a la carte” religion…but it works for me!! I think introducing it to the kids, especially Arthur, will be fascinating in the format you described. We always brought up the girls to be free thinking in their spirituality. I have one that will raise her children Catholic because it will please her in-laws (let’s not go there! I hope I used let’s correctly hehe after your one blog entry. Mike gets so frustrated with me for where I put commas, and not etc.etc.) and yet will not convert to Catholicism herself??!! Then the other is exploring cranial-sacral massage, yoga, auras, dream interpretation, readings etc. etc. So one never knows where one’s child will ultimately end up with their beliefs. The most wonderful thing is to offer education, exploration, and freedom of thought. Keep writing my friend, I’m reading.

    • February 15, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      Thanks Laurie. I didn’t think anybody else was reading this besides my wife. I should probably spend more time working on a book! But at least this blog has got me writing and taking time to critique it. Every bit helps!

  2. anandasata
    February 24, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Catching up on your blog. Keep writing, Dave. It’s good. Plus, in my oh-so-humble(ess) opinion, having a place to write the “small thoughts” will act as both a seed to the larger ideas as well as the practice/discipline/opportunity to write regularly and that will make it easier and more likely that you will do the bigger projects. See how wise I am? 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

