Home > General Ramblings > How Time Flies…

How Time Flies…

Wow! I can’t believe how fast March has flown by. It seems like so much has been going on that I haven’t had any energy, or coherence of mind, to write any entries. So here I am (not being one to let a lack of mental coherence get in my way) with a new post after three weeks.

These last weeks have seen an amazing transformation from winter to spring. It seems almost every time I’d go outside last week there were geese honking overhead. And the sunshine!! During the days the kids and I have been having a blast going to the park, playing ball, Fiona riding her bike, hanging out in the fort and cleaning up the remains of winter from the back yard. By the end of the day (like, just past sunset, if I’m lucky) I’m usually exhausted.

We’ve also made many changes inside the house that were long overdue. For the last four years Fiona Ruth has slept in her single bed next to ours. Finally last weekend we cleared out our bedroom and painted it a lovely pale pink, (per her instructions) and moved Fiona’s bed and dresser and toys into what is now her very own bedroom. And I bought a new carpet and Stephanie and I moved all our stuff into the new remodeled bedroom which has been mostly used as a storage room for almost two years. It’s almost like having a whole new upstairs! It’s wonderful. And Fifi has, to my surprise, done a fantastic job adjusting to sleeping in her own space without mama right next to her. There’s nothing like a new room to usher in the spring!

Today we’re finally getting a little rain and chilly winds. Even so, I hear lots of birds chattering outside the window. Starlings have built their nest in the hollow of our big maple in the back yard. And daffodils and crocuses and wild chives are popping up all over the place.  God, I love this time of year!!

I also discovered some new music from the NPR music website I’d like to share. It’s a band called Mumford & Sons. Check them out in the links below.

Tomorrow: More new stuff!

Today’s Links:

Mumford & Sons website

Mumford & Sons on Youtube

NPR Music

The Quantum Physics of Photosynthesis

Health Care Costs Around the World


Categories: General Ramblings
  1. Laurie
    March 23, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    David, thanks for the link to Mumford and Sons………..really enjoyed listening to their music on You tube. So nice of you to share!~!!! I forwarded the link on to Amanda and Scott who I thought would also like to listen.

    Sounds like you have been busy, busy, busy…..what nice improvements though. As the weather improves we may have to come for a visit and admire your handy work.

    Luv to all the Burkes, human, canine, and feline
    Laur

  2. March 24, 2010 at 2:18 am

    Hey Laurie,
    Sounds like you’ve been very busy at ‘Farmville’!
    I’m glad you enjoyed the music. I’ve been finding lots of new music lately. Radio Paradise also introduces me to great music I’ve never heard before. I’ve also enjoyed your photos of Samantha from Facebook. Wow, she’s one cute granddaughter!
    A visit this spring would be wonderful. We’ll have to talk soon.
    The sun is back today! Enjoy.

  3. Laurie
    March 24, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    yeah, farmville is my guilty pleasure. I never thought in 100+ years I would ever be attracted to something like it. Guess life is full of surprises!! We’ll definitely have to come for a visit after April passes. Once we get back, 1 1/2 wks later we rent a truck and move what we’ve claimed out of mom and dad’s house. It is on the market and they will be coming home shortly after we are with them in Myrtle to empty it all out. Hopefully it won’t sit too long. It’s a lovely home and I hope someone will call it their own and make their own wonderful memories there. Keep enjoying the sunshine and we will be in touch early May to firm up a visit.

    Love to all
    L

    • March 25, 2010 at 2:23 am

      That would be great. Sounds like you’ve got a busy month ahead. Good luck with the move.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

