Home > Entertainment, Speculative Fiction > The Fantastic ‘Fringe’

The Fantastic ‘Fringe’

Just a brief blog post today about my favorite science fiction series on television right now. Fringe just keeps getting better and better since its debut three years ago. And it’s been renewed by Fox for a fourth season. Considering the Fox network’s record  for canceling thought-provoking, original and creative series in the past (Firefly, Terminator: The Sarah Conner Chronicles) I cannot be happier!

Last Friday’s episode was another emotional, intense and hilarious excursion into creative television which is rarely seen these days, especially on a commercial network. And what an interesting use of animation! For those who have not seen Fringe, I don’t want to go into a full synopsis (though I have links below that will) because you really must watch the first seasons of this show to appreciate the wonderful characters and storytelling. So please, PLEASE go check it out on Netflix or buy the DVDs of the first two seasons of Fringe! And when season three finishes in three weeks go watch that when it becomes available, too!

The acting, the writing, the character development of this show is truly remarkable. I’ve recently started watching some of the first episodes from season one. And though I didn’t feel the show moved into the realm of greatness until near the end of season one, I find that even the pilot episode was quite phenomenal in retrospect. By the second season Fringe went from being a ‘bizarre event of the week’ structure into focusing more on the overall series narrative about the alternate universe, the Observers and Walter’s role in all the ‘Fringe’ events. I love the way that little events from the early episodes are connected to the whole picture of what is happening now and in episodes to come. And I just love the way this show has gotten me so emotionally involved with the character’s lives, even some of their counter-parts in the other universe (Fauxlivia, Walternate). I sincerely care about these people! The writers of Fringe have taken characters who seem to be the ‘bad guy’ initially and actually allowed us to sympathize with them by seeing their perspective. Despite some of the wacky story-lines, they’ve made this show feel more ‘real’ to me than many main-stream TV series. I’d say that’s quite an accomplishment!

And unlike ‘Lost’, I believe the writers of Fringe actually know where their story is going and how all of the pieces will eventually come together.

Fringe has something for everyone; mystery, science, horror, romance, (with a bit of soap opera thrown in) and some of the funniest moments I’ve seen on TV! That’s all I have to say for now.

Fringe Spoiler Alert: Apocalypse, Sex and Doomsday Devices – Oh My!

‘Fringe’ Friday: Fox gives you props

Leonard Nimoy really did take too much LSD on Fringe

Anna Torv: The season finale left me speechless

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

