Home > General Ramblings > A moment’s reflection

A moment’s reflection

Step outside and take a deep breath... Aaahhhhhhh! It smells like Summer! (at least if you live in the Northeastern United States). That ultimately indescribable aroma of rain-damp earth and flowers and recently cut grass.  It’s seventy degrees and a cool breeze rustles the fully-grown leaves (I love spontaneous alliteration!) that cast wondrous shifting patterns of morning sunlight dancing on the back lawn.

Just take a moment, if you can, to enjoy this glorious day. Hopefully it is a nice day where you are. But this reflection also reminds me how fortunate we are to live in this particular area of Western New York, when this Spring so many people across the country have endured horrendous tornadoes and floods; the loss of life and property and livelihood. The weather, climate in general, is such a tenuous, fickle thing! And now hurricane season is beginning. It seems there are very few places in America (and the world!) where we aren’t at the mercy of Nature’s wrath.

I usually take for granted how damn lucky we are around here not to, or very rarely, have to worry about tornadoes, earthquakes, floods, wildfires and the other climatic ravages that so many people face over and over again. It kind of makes one wonder what the future will bring, though. I don’t mean to be a bummer, but there doesn’t seem to be much we can take for granted these days!

But, for this moment, I’m going to go outside and enjoy this blissful, sunny day with my family while I can. After a long winter this is about as good as it gets!

Coming Next: Why I Love Bodhi Linux…

Categories: General Ramblings
  1. Gary Gibson
    June 8, 2011 at 5:16 am

    Was just tracing down the history of “One Night in Bangkok,” Chess, Murray Head, Lord Jowls, Fourth Tower… and wound up here. Lamenting that, although I lost, a decade ago, the recording I made of full 4th Tower around 78, even if I had it now, I would be unable to locate a functional 8-track player for less than I could buy the mp3 download from ZBS.

    Upon reading here about ZBS’ more recent exploits I will seek them out.

    “T4ToI” (said in a deep Dave Herman voice with a little reverb followed by wolf howl) has become quite the epitomy of cult classicism. Damn, did I just type that? Pure cheese.

    • June 8, 2011 at 5:31 am

      We finished listening to 4th Tower last week. Wow, what memories it brought back! I can’t believe it’s been over thirty-five years since I listened to that!
      Though it was bit New Age trippy for the kids, they still enjoyed it. And now I really want to buy some of the newer Jack Flanders Adventures, and other ZBS productions. They’re a lot of fun!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

