Home > General Ramblings > A New Direction

A New Direction

I’ve been noticing for the past few months that my posts have been few and far between. This is starting to bother me. It’s not that I don’t have anything to say; I think it’s because there are so many things on my mind and I don’t feel like I have enough time to actually sit down and begin something.  What with home schooling and doing things with the kids; shopping; taking care of things around the house, (and of course, perusing the Internet for news of what’s going on in this insane world), by the time it comes to writing, I’m too darn exhausted! Even for the paltry blog posts I usually write, it can sometimes take a lot of time to organize and edit my thoughts into coherent words. But I want to write more. I need to write!

And my other problem is that I am still very intrigued (dare I say obsessed?) by Free and Open Source Software and operating systems; and particularly the world of ‘Linux’. I think Open Source is going to be more and more important in the future; hell, it’s transforming the world already and most people who use it aren’t even aware of it! But I specifically love the incredible diversity of Linux-based software and operating systems; the availability of it for anyone to use. And this is not from the point of view of a programmer, (though that could become quite lucrative in the future: see THIS). I would like to show average desktop/laptop computer users how useful Linux/Open Source is.

So I find myself gravitating toward writing about my current adventures with Linux and not writing so much about the rest of my life and interests. Though to be honest; my posts about Linux/Open Source stuff consistently get a lot more interest/hits than anything else I write about. And with the growing awareness of Linux, I’ve been thinking that it might be a good idea to create a separate blog just for indulging my obsession with desktop Linux and saving Dragonfly Dreaming for personal expression and all other aspects of life in general.

Now I just need to create my new Linux blog!

For the moment I’ll leave you with a lovely and brief video for a lovely almost-Spring day: The Beautiful Forest

I’ll be back!

Categories: General Ramblings
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

